General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

PCM info to think about......very strange......You'll be surprised.

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2017, 08:57 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Default PCM info to think about......very strange......You'll be surprised.

So, I've been telling people for about 14 years that all PCMs are NOT created equal, they all have their little weird personalities. (EX: Mine will not operate with Bosch 02 sensors)

Another thing I've been saying.....nobody, including the engineer at GM that designed the computer fully understands how it works and what it can do.

So listen to this crazy stuff:
About 2 1/2 months ago I noticed my oil pressure gauge on cold start go up to about 60psi (normal).....but then after it warms up and I start driving around....it basically stays there and just moves up and down about 3-4 psi the entire time I drive, no matter how long I drive it. So...I figured the OPSU was failing. Its been 2 1/2 months and I still have not change the OPSU......

I drive to Orlando, from Lauderdale, this week. About 30 miles from reaching my destination in Orlando my SES light comes on. So I pull into an AutoZone and get the code read. Code was for a bad MAF. The guy also has an OBDII scanner in his car and offers to scan it further. He see's that the MAF is reading something, so we figure it just needs to be cleaned.
I got some MAF cleaner and cleaned it.

Code went away.....and my oil pressure gauge now reads normal. It jumps to about 60 psi on cold start, but then as it warms up it comes down like it used to do. Moves completely normal now.

Who would have thought a dirty MAF, can tell the PCM to give wrong readings on the oil pressure gauge.

Just an FYI...............PCMs are some pretty complex components.

Old 01-11-2017, 09:09 PM
Save the manuals!

Received 322 Likes on 295 Posts