General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

no a/c, but high pressure??

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2007, 10:40 AM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default no a/c, but high pressure??

i tried a quick search but didnt find much on the subject. i just bought a 2000 z28 and thought it had a nice cold a/c. well now that its 85, yes 85 degrees i have found it just blows warm air. now, i had a can of quick refill refrigerant and was going to use that, but the pressure gauge on the tube from the can was in the 75# area, and the can recommended that you not refill it because there is a problem. Now i was not born yesterday and wont take a rattle cans advice, but i have no knowledge of the inner workings of the a/c system. The fans work well, but are loud in high mode and dont know if i should just take it in for a drain and recharge. I kinda am ruling out a leak since that would cause the opposite reaction. Any ideas?
Old 12-10-2007, 12:45 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I'd check the vacuum actuation, see if there is a leak or
blockage to the diverters under the dash. Does the A/C
clutch engage and run while it's blowing warm? Or fast
cycle?

A set of $39 Harbor Freight manifold gauges would tell
you a lot more about the system than the low side
alone. You want to know if the high side is getting
pumped or if the thing is just sitting at baseline
pressure. As I recall, 75# is kind of high for low side
pressure when running.
Old 12-10-2007, 12:49 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Sounds like the compressor isn't coming on, so you're reading static pressure. 70 psi with it off at about 75 degees should be enough to keep it from tripping off for low pressure and check the charge. Low side pressure with the compressor running should be 40-44 psi at 76-85 degrees according to my helms.
Old 12-10-2007, 08:24 PM
TECH Enthusiast