Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Chipping an LS1

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 08:18 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Chipping an LS1

OK, so I am new to modern motors...most of my experience is with classic V8 engines that greatly pre-date any computers...so, this post may be full of stupid comments and questions; so bare with me.

Anyway, I have a couple friends who have performed a couple bolt on mods to their cars (one is a Ford Explorer and the other is a Dodge Ram) and one of the mods they liked the most was the computer chip they installed.

So, my understanding is these chips generally alter the air-to-fuel ration and the fuel curves to make better power. Do they also generally lower fuel efficiency?

Also, I would be interested in at some point doing this to my Camaro if it was worth doing. Right now, my car is pretty much bone stock...but I don't have any crazy plans with it. I have a 2002 Camaro SS LE M6 with the factory 3.42 gears and an SLP installed Auburn differential. The car also has a factory installed SLP Blackwing Lid. I have a Flowmaster catback on it...but I don't know what series it is...it came with the car.

Is there any computer tuning/chipping that would be worth me doing...or should I pursue other options? This is my daily driver so I don't want to do anything that will greatly hurt efficency, make it hard or unreliable to drive.

Basically, I know nothing about this and I was looking for some general information.
Old 04-20-2008, 08:31 PM
TECH Addict

the flowmaster is an 80 series, and tuning your car right now would be a little bit of a waste, you should do some other mods, you can always do long tubes with ORY or catted y, those dont hurt reliability, and a better catback, ported and polished throttle body is also an option
Old 04-20-2008, 08:33 PM
TECH Enthusiast