Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lq4 block machine work

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2013, 10:43 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lq4 block machine work

I am somewhat new to the ls world, i have a lq4 6.0 block that i plan on boring. When i asked the machine shop if they use torque plates, he said its not need on ls block because of where the head bolts are positioned, it does not effect the deck when torqued, has anyone else had experiance with this?

Thanks!
Old 04-16-2013, 11:38 PM
TECH Resident

Sounds like you are having the same problem I am. I can't find a friggin machine shop with ls1 experience in my area. He's wrong they should use a torque plate
Old 04-17-2013, 06:50 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 70 Likes on 62 Posts

Find another shop...
Old 04-17-2013, 09:41 AM
Teching In

definitely needs torque plates...
Old 04-17-2013, 08:37 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

And what happens if a block is bored or honed without plates? Will it just not run? Lose 200 HP? Lay a smoke cloud a mile long? I'd really love to hear real life stories on this...
Old 04-17-2013, 09:01 PM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by S10xGN
And what happens if a block is bored or honed without plates? Will it just not run? Lose 200 HP? Lay a smoke cloud a mile long? I'd really love to hear real life stories on this...
From what I "understand" when the heads are torqued down the block will slightly distort causing the bores to be pulled slightly. By using the the torque plate you are simulating the same pull and twist on the block that it would see in real life when assembled and you can get a truer/rounder bore to promote better sealing, less blow by, more even wear and longer engine life.