Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rocker Arm Problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2005, 03:22 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rocker Arm Problem

For the last year I have been battling oil consumption issues and random detonation issues on my Combination Motorsports built 408. The car initially ran great and has slowly and progressively gotten worse over time--6000 miles since my new motor was installed. Well, tonight I pulled my driver's side valve cover and noticed that one of the rocker arms on cylinder #7 is sunken into my retainer and another appears to be somewhat mushroomed.

Being a fairly unexperienced mechanic myself, can anyone with some experience please tell me what you think is wrong here......

Please forgive me if the images do not post as I have never attached a jpg file before when posting.....thanks!
Attached Thumbnails Rocker Arm Problem-number-7-both-rockers-pic-small.jpg   Rocker Arm Problem-number-7-cylinder-rocker-arm-small.jpg   Rocker Arm Problem-number-7-pic-2-small.jpg   Rocker Arm Problem-number-5-cylinder-rocker-arm-small.jpg  
Old 08-24-2005, 03:33 AM
Teching In

FYI,

the last pic is of another rocker on cylinder 5 just to emphasize the fact that you can see the top of the valve on that retainer and not on the one on cylinder #7.

....does this look like the valve train was not set up properly? Will the heads have to come off??? I have not yet taken the passenger side valve cover off, but will do so soon.

...For the $12000 that I have in the engine alone I am praying that this issue gets resolved!!!

Thanks in advance for your responses!
Old 08-24-2005, 07:28 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Added spring pressure (assuming...) and xtra lift (assuming again....) must have been too much for the stock rockers. Time for roller tips. As long as the valve stems are OK heads do not have to be removed. I might be concerned about your oil pressure also.
Old 08-24-2005, 09:07 AM
On The Tree