Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Good with fiberglass? Let's talk..

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2009, 08:03 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good with fiberglass? Let's talk..

Well, in the spirit of being a little creative and different, I am looking for someone who is good with fiberglass. My tired 1995 A4 console is screaming at me. I would like to fiberglass over my crummy console lid (no more lid). I would also like my mounting points re-inforced. Once everything has been nicely fiberglassed over, it will be taken to my local upholstry shop. I am told that some high end audio installers are a good place to search. Input anyone?
Old 02-21-2009, 08:29 PM
Launching!

Sounds like some "Unique Whips" type ****. That's is ALOTTTTT of work. I had some buddys a few years ago that owned a stereo shop, and being that I do body work for a living they thought I would be a good canidate to fiberglass the cargo area of a mid '90's Suburban where they had built a board with mounting spots for 4 15" subs and then smooth it all out and blend it in with the rest of the interior. It was horriable.
Old 02-21-2009, 08:47 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by cvalliere
Sounds like some "Unique Whips" type ****. That's is ALOTTTTT of work. I had some buddys a few years ago that owned a stereo shop, and being that I do body work for a living they thought I would be a good canidate to fiberglass the cargo area of a mid '90's Suburban where they had built a board with mounting spots for 4 15" subs and then smooth it all out and blend it in with the rest of the interior. It was horriable.
Really? Holy cow! Well, for what it's worth, I could care less if the fiberglass "looks" good. As long as the lines are straight and it looks uniform and even, I am just gonna have my upholsterer do the rest.