Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Truetrac is CRAP For a 6 speed.

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2009, 11:03 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Truetrac is CRAP For a 6 speed.

With the mods I have listed below and MT ET Streets (bias ply), I bent the splines on the driver side axle and put a bunch of cuts on the worm gears.

I knew something was wrong when every time I would accelerate out of a slow turn I would hear and feel a loud pop or two coming from the rear.

This is after only using it for 1.5 seasons and 20-30 runs per season. I didn't use the nitrous for most of the runs, but I did do second gear burnouts. The best 60' was 1.7 I think (I'm still learning).

What sucks is that Moser recommended these parts for my power level and they're not standing behind them. I guess its the chance you take for dragracing.

So, now I'm gonna spend 900 parts and labor for a spool.
Old 10-15-2009, 11:41 AM
Race your car!

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

I've been saying those differentials are JUNK for a year and a half...... I have a car sitting in my garage right now with a broken one, it lived for 5 passes in a 420 rwhp h/c car that was detuned for a nitrous hit (kit didn't work, something funky with the wiring/loose connection somewhere) and it still killed the thing in 5 passes. I'm talking 4 runs on drag radials (street car) then we put a 26x8.5 slick on it for 1 pass, and on the return road it was acting like a locker after 5 passes and about 300 to 500 street miles, roughly.

The tru-crap diff, pretty much makes a 9 inch, 12 bolt or S60 into an overweight 10 bolt in the strength department.

I wouldn't put one of those things in anything period.
Old 10-15-2009, 11:47 AM
Internet Mechanic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Broke 2 here. I will eventually swap it out for something.
Old 10-15-2009, 11:55 AM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by 105