LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

Best Brake Pads for Grand Prix GXP

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2009, 12:37 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Best Brake Pads for Grand Prix GXP

So what does everyone think of for what the best brake pads out there are for the GP GXPs? Like a full set of Ceramic front and rear from the same manufacturer - I don't like the idea of mixing and matching different compounds and different manufacturers.

Let me begin this by saying that I've got a lot of experience with different street and track (road course) compounds on F-bodies but I am new to the W-body world. I've road raced several different cars at a few local tracks. I've used several different PFC, Hawk, and Wilwood compounds on 3rd gens and LT1 and LS1 4th gens. So I know you give up max performance when you go to an extremely low-dust, quiet pad - and that is what we are looking for, but not to the point that you don't have confidence in the brakes.

This car (a 2005) is a Daily Driver and we are interested in getting very low dust - as in NO dust if possible, and no squeeking and decent performance that will last a good 20k miles. We aren't hitting the track with it anytime soon so it doesn't need to have ridiculous performance when extremely hot or anything, but just solid performance on the street.