Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

help deciding susp. for my SS build.

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2010, 03:44 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default help deciding susp. for my SS build.

https://ls1tech.com/forums/chevrolet...l#post12794036

so i have a pretty decent budget, but still not quite sure what to do with it yet. some ppl have already suggested full coil overs, full rear susp. with all poly/rod parts, sways etc etc. i want decent/good cornering along with 1/4 mile capability. but i'm no suspension expert. so here are some questions that arose from that ^ thread.

-to do k-member package or not to do k-member package. it's pricey, but i want it, just not sure if it's worth it.

-4 corner coil overs vs not. pros/cons? which coil overs should i go with if i do decide to.

-torque arm. trans mount vs relocation vs tunnel brace mounted.

-sfc's. 3 point vs 2 point. welded vs bolt in. or maybe not at all?

-if i do a 12 bolt how will that affect my suspension choices?
Old 01-29-2010, 03:55 PM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 134 Likes on 87 Posts

Hard to work in generalities.

I'd be happy to help you with a setup that can do both, handle and still launch pretty darned well. Drag setups do not handle very well fwiw.

I will whole heartedly recommend a UMI k-member since I had a lot of input into it and it's way stronger than the single-tube designs. My swaybars are both hollow and the lightest set you can get that actually handles as they should (since my background and development of them involves actual handling). My lowering springs again are lighter than most any other set out there, proven to handle (as designed), and can get power down because I don't use a stupid high rear spring rate.

I also have some coil-overs, but you can't go to a drag race shock and expect the car to ride or handle like it can.