Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie with a WS.6

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2010, 02:22 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with a WS.6

as you can see by my post count i'm new to LS1's buying my first 2000 Trans am WS.6 M6 this weekend. i know the car is stock w/ TSP lid, flowmaster exhaust and cut out, new BF goodrich G-force tires on it. i'm looking to spend anywhere from 2-3,000 $ and hoping to make up to 400 HP. just from what i have read in the threads it looks like i'm going with 3.73 gears, LS6 intake, LT headers - y-pipe cats and i'm dropping the flowmasters for Dynomax bullets. if i'm making a mistake with any of this please let me know, and with the money i have to play with what else can i do to hit that 400HP. also this will be my daily driver and i would love to have a choppy cam but not sure if i can deal the money out for that. i'm putting 500$ a side for a dynotune after i'm done with the bolt-ons.
Old 02-10-2010, 02:33 AM
10 Second Club

ARP Rod Bolts
LS7 Lifters
Hardened Pushrods
Better timing chain
Ported Oil Pump

Do these mods first and have peace of mind forever and you won't really have to worry too much about over revving either. Keep in mind if you're gonna do lifters, it's a great time for upgraded head gaskets, too.

Can't do all the power mods without the reliability!
Old 02-10-2010, 02:40 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It would be dumb not to take a big chunk of that money and put it towards a 9" and some transmission upgrades.. After that get some LCAs/LCA reloc./TQ arm... Then star with your bolt ons and if you have enough do a cam only setup.

A cam only setup on a 6 speed is easy to hit 400Rwhp.. That power is useless however without a rear or a clutch.
Old 02-10-2010, 03:57 AM
On The Tree

agreed^^^
Old 02-10-2010, 08:10 AM
On The Tree

Do the gears and clutch, then just spray the dam thing. You'll get all the hp you want.
Old 02-10-2010, 12:50 PM
11 Second Club