Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

questions about spring problems in 2002 C5 Z06

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2010, 10:54 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default questions about spring problems in 2002 C5 Z06

I picked up a used 2002 C5 Z06 a week ago and before I bought people told me about a problem with the springs. I was wonder if you guys could suggest a spring to replace my stockers.

I'm new to the LS world so I have no experience with these engines. I have noticed a slight noise coming from the engine when the rmps go above 2,000. For example if I'm crusing in 3rd gear going down a side road for awhile, I hear "the noise". Wondering if this is related to the spring problem? not really a ticking noise maybe a fluttering noise? Hard to explain what I'm hearing. Any idea what could be causing this. Car is a 2 owner with 66K miles.
Old 08-03-2010, 12:12 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 297 Likes on 209 Posts

If the valve springs are really bad you could be experiencing valve float at lower rpms which is rare. That's when the spring looses the ability to keep the valve closed usually at higher rpms. park the car because you could be doing some nasty damage to your heads altogether.
Second you don't want to ruin your LS6 valves because they are hard if not impossible to find now a days at least the stock ones and they are expensive a hell.

rockauto.com used to have them but i don't think they do any more and they are expensive for a set if you can find them.
If you are going to do a set of springs do these http://www.jegs.com/i/Comp%20Cams/24...0002/-1?CT=999.

good luck
Old 08-03-2010, 02:54 AM
TECH Addict

Your springs are probably fine. If you think "the noise" really is from your springs ,which is unlikely as it would get worse as RPM increased and cause a loss of power, you can use these: PAC-1218 Set of 16 as a direct swap for your current springs.