Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1985 Monte Carlo 6.0 LQ4 swap

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2010, 09:45 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985 Monte Carlo 6.0 LQ4 swap

Hello Everyone, I am a noob here, been floating around for awhile mainly researching stuff here while I was doing my swap, now that its done, I decided to join and show some pictures.
My car is a 1985 Monte Carlo Coupe. It had a GM crate 350 in it for a while but a little over a year ago I decided I wanted to go fuel injection. After reading about some LS swaps I decided that was the route I wanted to go. I picked up a used LQ4 from a wrecked 2004 silverado and went to work. Now its done and its the best thing I ever did to this car, it runs better than ever. I'm attaching a list of stuff used and pictures below.

I used,
Trans Dapt set back engine mounts,
Carshop Inc shorty headers for a S10
F body Electric Fans
F body Front end accessories
Stock Monte Carlo Radiator
Upper radiator hose for 2000 camaro Z28
Lower rad hose - NAPA #9258
Thermostat housing - Street and performance straight neck
Techrods wire harness,
LS1 intake and injectors
Truck 80mm cable throttle body
Aeromotive A1000 pump
Aeromotive A1000 bypass FPR - #13101
Aeromotive 10 and 100 micron fuel filters - #12301 & #12304
Aeromotive fuel rails - #14106
Cadillac CTS-v oil pan
Sumped stock EFI Monte Carlo fuel tank
TCI LS1 to TH350 Flexplate
TH350 transmission
Fuel system is 10AN lines from the tank to the 100 Micron filter and A1000pump. Then 8 AN from the pump to the 10 Micron filter, and to the rails and regulator. Then 6 AN return to the tank. Its a little bit overkill right now, but I'll be modifying the engine in the future and didnt want to buy stuff twice.
I had CustomLS1tuning.com in Columbus, Ohio do the mail order tune to get it running.

Pictures are below, I still need a finished engine bay shot, I'll add that in when I get a chance the next few days.

Engine when I got it.
Name:  ProjectMonsterCarlo015.jpg