Any tips for being a supervisor in manufacturing?

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2012, 06:57 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

Default Any tips for being a supervisor in manufacturing?

I took a job out of college working on the floor in the CNC machine shop dept of a sheet metal manufacturing company. I have about 7 months total experience in programming and setting up machines, Haas and some Fanuc machines, with 2 of those months being at this company. They have asked the current supervisor to step down, and offered me his position.

I know this forum has a lot of engineering and technical related members, so I figured it would be the perfect place to ask for any tips or advice. I have no experience with management, except a management course from school. I appreciate it a bunch!
Old 08-06-2012, 08:00 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Best thing you can do is lead by example, don't act like you know everything, be willing to listen, and don't make it a friendship. When I say that you can be friends with the people you manage but at work you are their boss. No need to be an a-hole or anything but thinking you are going to be the cool, layed back guy that is friends with all the workers is generally going to lead them to taking advantage of the situation.

There is a fine line. Complete a-hole no one wants to work for you or get you out of jams. Too nice and they will start slacking.

Last edited by sleepersilverado; 08-06-2012 at 08:16 PM.
Old 08-06-2012, 08:04 PM
TECH Apprentice

Business is business and friendship is friendship.

Just like stated above, treat your guys with respect and they will return it. If you treat them like **** don't expect for them to go out of their way to do something for you.
Old 08-06-2012, 08:10 PM
Staging Lane

Be yourself, don't let it get to your head.
Old 08-06-2012, 10:21 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post