Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

Newbie, carb questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2014, 01:19 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Newbie, carb questions

Hi all. im a newbie to the carbed lsx lifestyle. i currently have a 383 lsx with AI heads and cam, around 13.5CR, and gonna spray a 300 shot with a direct port on a super victor carb setup. Ive been reading the new thread but would like some info on which carb i should run. i hear the holley 750 is good, but what about a demon? also deleting my knock sensors is the idea? I am also going to be on E85, do i need a specific carb for that? Whats a good fuel pressure for the fuel side? also is there a regulator that i can use to maintain for both the fuel for motor and fuel for nitrous side? im going to run a stand alone fuel system on it. i have a 98 pcm, and hp tuners, is there any adjustments i need to make for before the initial start up? sorry for all the questions, i am a super newbie to the lsx carb. thanx for all the help in advance.
Old 01-21-2014, 03:37 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Pretty safe to say you are going to need bigger than a 750 carb. There have been a couple of members running Quick Fuel E85 carbs. You might look into that. Contact quick fuel and see what they recommend. Also see if you can dig up any of the old E85 threads.

Get the MSD ignition box, it has everything you need including the stand alone harness. No knock sensor, just cam, crank and map sensor. Nothing to do with the old PCM or FI wiring, just get rid of it.

That is a lot of nitrous. You will probably get some pretty good suggestions on here for a fuel system but you are definitely going to want to do some more reading to make sure you are safe.
Old 01-21-2014, 03:38 PM
In-Zane Moderator

Received 32 Likes on 19 Posts

Knock sensors are whatever. Delete them or leave them.