PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

00 silverado starts and then dies, over and over, please help!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2004, 01:21 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default 00 silverado starts and then dies, over and over, please help!!!!!

I have been driving my 00 Z-71 daily for two years. I drove it yesterday and everything was fine. I park it in the garage last night and this morning I turn the key, it starts and immediately dies. I try again same thing. Sometimes it will run for about 1 second or maybe 1.5 seconds, but that's it. It did this last spring out of the blue and then suddenly it just started up and has been fine til this morning. Anybody have any ideas what this could be. It won't take gas even when it runs for the split second, it's like it's only got enough fuel to run for a second or so and that's it. Please help, this is my only mode of transportation this time of year.
Old 12-28-2004, 04:08 PM
10 Second Club

Ok, so I give the truck however long it took me to write the above thread and log off the internet. I go back out and it fires right up and is perfect. I've since drove it 50-60 miles, turned the truck off and restarted it 3 or 4 times, and it seems to be back to normal, what gives?!?! I'm glad it's ok now, but just the thought that this could happen at a very inoppurtune time is enough to make me want to get to the bottom of it.
Old 12-28-2004, 08:43 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Does your truck have the VATS system? (Resistor in the key) or could be a PassLock system failing as well. This symptoms are similar. If I put a remote start on a car/truck with these type of systems and I do not put the correct bypass on the harness it will start for a second or so and then cut back off.
Old 12-29-2004, 05:42 PM
10 Second Club

Originally Posted by monodax