PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Crazy Lean trims after Vararam install..

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2005, 08:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crazy Lean trims after Vararam install..

Gents,

Newbie here who could use some advice. First, let me say this forum has been absolutely amazing in that just by reading I've gotten the grasp on pcm tuning and am well on my way to getting started. That said, I began logging with HP Tuners (2004 ZO6 bone stock) just to get a feel for what I'm looking at and how to interpret the data. Then I added the Vararam air intake and my Ltrims went real lean...Here are the pics:

Strims and Ltrims (Stock vehicle)

Strims and Ltrims (after Vararam intake)

Should there have been such a dramatic change? I drove well over 200 miles and reset Ltrims as recommended by the manufacturer but it appears the pcm has not adapted to the new air intake.

My first inclination was that I was running lean due to unmetered air entering somewhere between the MAF and TB. I checked and rechecked all connections and even went as far as spraying starter fluid on all connections to check for a change in engine rpms (indicating an air leak) but found none. Interestingly enough, when I go into SD mode (disable MAF), my Strims and Ltrims pretty much fall into line (+/- 10 at most). If this is not normal does anybody have any ideas where I should look next? Should I, instead, just leave it as is and start tuning/logging in SD mode and recalibrate the MAF? Thanks in advance...
Old 05-15-2005, 09:22 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by ChrisLe
Gents,