Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

school me on stalls

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2007, 04:41 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default school me on stalls

I'm new to the auto game. This is my 5th car and first auto. I love 5 speeds but well racing street or strip seems like autos always come out on top and less stress on everything. Anyways how does a stall converter work, what does it do etc. I know the basics but not much more....car i got came with a pro torque 3000 stall
Old 05-17-2007, 05:47 AM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'll use my converter as a specific example. I have a TCI 3500. There are four important numbers for any torque converter.

1). Stall speed.

2). STR (or stall torque ratio).

3). Shift extension.

4). Effiency.

The stall speed is basically what the converter will stall or flash to when you go wot from a dig or a roll. I have a 3500 stall so when I am cruising at 30 mph and I punch it my rpm's jump to 3500 and climb from there. The ideal stall speed is generally about 700 rpm's less then where your motor makes peak power. The whole idea of a stall is to go to where your engine makes the most power. LT1's make peak power down low in the rpm's so they generally stick with 2500-3000 stalls. LS1's make power higher in the rpm's so we get more from 3500-4000 stalls.

My converter has a 2.5 STR. This multiplies the torque off the line. Basically the higher the number the harder the launch. 1.6-1.9 is extremly mild. 2.0-2.4 is a good street/strip STR and 2.5+ is a great drag strip STR. Which STR is best suited depends on the tires and application. Street only car on street tires would want a lower STR. Strip only cars on slicks want a very high number. Street/strip cars with drag radials might benifit from the mid size STR's.