Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

clutch upgrade for a ls1

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2014, 08:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default clutch upgrade for a ls1

Hey hows it going fellas. Im new to the gm world. So heres the thing, my brother just bought an '02 Z28 and the clutch slave cylinder needs to be replaced. So we're thinking of upgrading the clutch at the same time and he had read that the ls7 clutch kit fits his ls1 engine. I looked up the measurements for both clutches and saw that both clutches are identical in size. I wanted to know if anyone else has done this upgrade and can we keep the stock ls1 flywheel. Thanks in advanced
Old 10-14-2014, 06:27 PM
TECH Addict

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

I'm pretty sure you'd need a different flywheel for the ls7 clutch. If it were me I'd use a monster clutch. Everyone that has one has nothing but great things to say about them.
Old 10-15-2014, 02:17 PM
It's not mine! woo hoo!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Moving to manual transmission section... be prepared for the Monster love fest
Old 10-15-2014, 11:57 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by demonspeed
be prepared for the Monster love fest
haha but for good reason
Old 10-16-2014, 05:56 PM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You will need a new flywheel as mentioned to fit the ls7 clutch , and be prepared to add an adjustable master as the shifting issues with the heavier ls7 clutch setup with self adjusting pressure plate on stock hydraulics are very well documented ...