Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

new clutch and tranny wont slide back in???

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2006, 12:21 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new clutch and tranny wont slide back in???

I just installed my stage 4 spec and im trying to slide the tranny back in and it gets to about 1 inch away and wont go any further, what the hell am i missing or doing wrong here, I need the car it is my daily driver please someone help!
Old 07-24-2006, 01:22 AM
Launching!

Well, before you tightened up the pressure plate bolts did you make sure that your clutch was lined up perfect? You have to use that clutch alignment tool to line it up with the pilot bearing. I'm guessing that its off just a little bit.
Old 07-24-2006, 02:10 AM
Launching!

Well it is late, I don't think many people are browsing right now, so I will do what I can. I am no expert but, have had to deal with this, so here it goes...

First off make sure everything is lined up correctly. Have you tried gently rocking/wiggling the transmission to make sure its "splined" up? Are the dowels stopping you? I know gently wiggling 125 pounds seems absurd but I think you know what I mean.

From what I have read and what I have gone through, it seems like the problem is with there being pressure in the hydraulic system. The throw out bearing is contacting the fingers of the pressure plate before the transmission can reach the bellhousing and you cannot push hard enough to to compress the the fingers of the pressure plate.

When I had this problem, and was sure everything was lined up, I just started all the bolts by hand, then tightened them down. If you do it this way, make sure you are doing it evenly. Use the same method you would use when you bolting a wheel on.

Hope this helps man! When its your only car and you need it, things can get stressful. I have been there, its no fun.
Old 07-24-2006, 02:24 AM
ЯєŧąяĐ Єl¡m¡иąŧøя ™