Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

First time replacing shocks. What else to replace while they're out?

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2014, 09:37 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default First time replacing shocks. What else to replace while they're out?

My 97' z28 vert. has about 128k miles on it (stock, daily driver) and the car is riding like crap. I figure a suspension overhaul is in order. I'm an aspiring mechanic (see also: noob), and this will be my first time playing around with suspension.

What all should I inspect and/or replace while I've got the wheels and shocks off?

I'm starting with replacing the shocks with Koni S.R.T's and I'm thinking of replacing the springs with OE height Moog 60114 and CC635. I've read that sway bar end links are likely worn or easily broken while replacing shocks, so I could get those as well.
Old 09-04-2014, 09:56 AM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

With 128k miles on your vehicle there is definitely a chance that the end links will have some wear and tear on them and need replacing but they could also be fine too. Just visually inspect them and if you determine that they need to be replace I would recommend going with a set of aftermarket polyurethane ones like the BMR ones we offer. I would also inspect the condition of your strut mounts too and replace them if need be. If you do end up getting new strut mounts make sure you go with a good aftermarket set like Moog because some of the cheaper options are complete crap. I have had customers have some bad experiences with the cheaper ones and I have too.

Find a Quality alignment shop near you!
Old 09-04-2014, 02:41 PM
It's not mine! woo hoo!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I'd also replace the end links with poly ones. Throw on poly sway bar bushings while you're in there as well.

Going with new strut mounts may actually be necessary, and you'll also want to get new isolators for those.
Old 09-04-2014, 03:07 PM