Sponsored by: DashLynx

Recommendation's PLEASE

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2010, 11:19 AM
Moz
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Recommendation's PLEASE

I am not a detailer by any meen's.However I do have a Black (ugh)01' WS6 that has minnor swirl marks and minnor scratch's that I would like to have gone.I want to bring back the luster that my car had when I bought it brand new.I dont drive the car in the rain,and it is stored winters (Wisconsin).
I'm looking to do the detailing myself and understand there is a lot of time and effort into bringing a neglected finish back to life,(up to now the car has been washed and dryed).Never clayed or buffed.
I am a novice to detailing but have to start somewhere right?
This is what i've been considering.
http://www.autogeek.net/pinnacle-porter-cable.html
I know there are a ton of threads/post explaining how to remove swirls and scratches but I truely dont know where to start after washing and drying of my car.
Everyone has different opinion's of what is the right way to approach this,and that just makes it more confusing!
Is this a good kit to start out with? (http://www.autogeek.net/pinnacle-porter-cable.html)
What is the best approach for a beginner to start taking care of the finish of my car (removing swirls and scratches)?
What causes the swirls in first place (washing in circular motion when the paints clear coat is contanimated)?
Thank You Very Much for any and all inputs.
Moz

Last edited by Moz; 08-01-2010 at 01:13 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 08-01-2010, 12:55 PM
TECH Fanatic