Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

HID help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2013, 08:14 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HID help!

So im in the market to buy a HID kit for my 98 z28. But I have some questions on what to buy.
1. 35w vs. 55w I heard 35w is the way to go due to the fact they last longer and won't burn up ****.
2. AC vs. DC I don't see many people talking about this. Clearly the AC ballasts make perfect sense but making sure someone esle has tried it.
3. Do I need to invest in a relay? I thought I read something that the 98 wouldn't need one. And the 99 to 02s would.
4. Pretty much boils down to Im just in need for someone to tell me what exactly I need. These kits arent cheap when you add them all up.
5. Going with the 8k low and 8k high 8k fog.
Old 02-26-2013, 07:22 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm no expert, but I've done research and am about to start a full on projector retrofit (materials just arrived yesterday)...

1) My understanding is that the 35w will be plenty bright. 55w creates more heat, washes out the color more, and burns out bulbs faster. Not to mention, costs more upfront too.
2) Not sure what you mean? In order to run HID's you will need a ballast. The ballast converts DC to a high voltage AC. Theoretically, DC ballasts would work too, but they don't promote even wear on the bulb electrode. Early on, some manufacturers ran DC, but AC won out as the standard. Any system you buy is going to be AC. The ballast also provides a much higher current at first to "fire" the bulbs and slowly backs off as the bulb heats up.
3) It's always recommended that you run a relay harness. People get away without it, but for the cheap cost of them and the insurance they provide, both for the vehicle and the new HID system, I don't see why anyone wouldn't run a relay harness. There's no material difference in the headlight wiring between 98 and 02 - run a relay harness.
4) There are kits available, I'll PM you.