Sponsored by: DashLynx

Detailing Guidance

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2017, 06:56 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Detailing Guidance

Hello,

I love (polishing/waxing) my vehicles and I have been doing it for about 10 years by hand. I now want to speed up the process/execution by moving to a RO or high speed buffer, but I don't know which direction to go and to be honest, I am a bit nervous about possible damage with the rotary options? I have seen other people use them and get those "swirl" marks afterwards. I know that obviously professional results are reached with rotary options, however, I have always had good results by hand and I wonder if it ain't broke, should I fix it?

I am a weekend warrior with my cleaning (maybe once a week - 10 days), however I don't mind spending a moderate amount of money to get quality products. I detail my 99 Black TA, 06 Blue Silverado and 11 Black Corolla. All the detailing is done in my driveway in the shade.

My next question..I know everyone is going to have their favorite, but a few suggestions would be nice. I don't need an argument to start! lol I currently use Zanio and I have been satisfied with their product, but I would like to move on to something else. I have been looking at Adam's Polishes and 3M products. I know their are a tonnnnn of options, but someone could offer a few other main ones, that would be nice. I am generally looking for the following qualities in this order - Protection, ease of application/price, look of product, shelf life

Thanks folks tips/suggestions are appreciated.
Old 04-10-2017, 07:17 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 345 Likes on 237 Posts

You absolutely will see much better results using a machine polisher as opposed to by hand.

I use a rotary but absolutely would not recommend it for someone starting out. I'm sure someone here will recommend a good D.A polisher to start out with. There is also a lot less chance of damaging paint with a D.A as opposed to a rotary.