Automatic Transmission 2-Speed thru 10-Speed GM Autos | Converters | Shift Kits
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4l80e direct clutch failure

Old 12-22-2008, 07:11 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 228 Likes on 161 Posts

Default 4l80e direct clutch failure

i finally got my 2005 4l80e apart, (i bought it as a core to rebuild) and all looked good except the direct clutches, they were shot-what might have caused this to fail, anything that i need to look for, maybe a computer related thing orig-i will be rebuilding it with a transgo manuel shift kit, and i believe they have diff springs to install in the direct clutch-maybe the kit will address some of this-also the sun gear looks like it had some good use, but i think it will be ok
the prices for the tool to do the 4th clutch sure seem high (i have one of the pieces) for some plastic stuff, lol
Old 12-22-2008, 10:27 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Don't take my word for it since I am not a pro builder, but I am doing the same type of work on a 1995 4l80e. I am installing Alto 031756HP kit for the direct clutch it has 7 thinner steel & friction plates to replace the 5 standard pieces without modifying the drum. The transgo-3 kit does include new springs for the direct clutch. I believe the transgo kit also feeds both chambers of the direct clutch, but I think that it is done in the valve body, not like an older TH400 where you leave one of the seal rings out. Again, I am not an expert. I am curious what other people have to say about the alto frictions.
Old 12-22-2008, 11:11 AM
TECH Resident

Received 89 Likes on 54 Posts

The Alto frictions are "OK" but the stock 4L80E frictions are better.
I also don't care for using the thin steels of the Alto PowerPacks.
It's been proven time and again that thin steels will cause the pack to go away much faster than using fewer frictions with thicker steels.

Ask any of the sponsors here why they don't use the Alto PowerPack in the 3-4 clutches of the 4L60E....