Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No start after new tranny install

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2010, 08:06 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default No start after new tranny install

Got myself a new lvl 2 performabuilt tranny. everything is in. But the car doesnt start. This is my first time dealing with trannys. I need some ideas on where to start. I think i got the shifter cable adjusted right. but i'll charge the battery to the car but will not turnover. doesnt even try to turnover. Any ideas i can look at when i get back into the shop tomorrow? Thanks
Old 12-01-2010, 08:14 PM
On The Tree

sounds like a nuetral safety switch problem, id check that cable adjustment again and see if maybe you left any connectors undone or a bad connection somewhere. if you have all your dash lights and power to the rest of the car but it will not try to crank id say thats certainly the problem.
Old 12-01-2010, 08:33 PM
Launching!

Did you take your starter completely out?? Check there first...and the bat connections...gd luck
Old 12-02-2010, 07:07 AM
TECH Resident

i did take out the starter completely and i was going to check it out again make sure everything was right with it.
nuetral switch is where located in the car??
Old 12-02-2010, 09:03 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by 00 Freak
i did take out the starter completely and i was going to check it out again make sure everything was right with it.
nuetral switch is where located in the car??
Did you get into the console & the shifter at all?
I believe the switch is on the shifter.
See if you can push or pull on the shifter in different positions & turn the key to see if that will make it turn over in any position.
Turn the key to start when the shifter is in nuetral also.
Old 12-03-2010, 02:52 AM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by PontiacFan
Did you get into the console & the shifter at all?
I believe the switch is on the shifter.