Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Help the Newbie - 2006 CTS-V with a $2-5k Budget

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2011, 08:42 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

Lightbulb Help the Newbie - 2006 CTS-V with a $2-5k Budget

Hey all,

Long-time forum lurker here. Hoping for some sound advice, given the ridiculous amount of experience that you guys have collectively accrued.

The situation: I have a 2006 CTS-V with 14,000 miles. It's my daily driver, and I'd like to make upgrading this thing my spring project. I have no experience modifying cars (I've rotated tires, installed an iPod kit, etc), but I'm an unusually intelligent electrical engineer with a knack for taking things apart and putting them back together. Point is, I've budgeted $2k to upgrade this car, with provisions to raise that to $5k if I see a point to doing so. I've done about 10 hours of research this past weekend, and would welcome your suggestions. Couple of things:
  1. Performance is key. I'm focused on the best price/performance (or price per unit driveability) upgrades. If the car looks or sounds better, bonus--but that's not what I'm here for.
  2. I'll buy whatever tools I need, and I'm patient. But I have to be able to complete each modification in a weekend (20-24 hours working time)--I rely on this car to get me to work on Monday morning.
  3. A completely legitimate answer to this post is, "don't waste your money." If I have to drop $5k+ in order to really see results, then I'll just put that money toward a 2012 CTS-V coupe.

That said, here are the problems with the CTS-V that I've identified so far:
  1. The shifter / clutch / flywheel on this car are terrible. The clutchplate / flywheel are at least 20 pounds overweight.
  2. The intake / exhaust system is too restrictive. Sounds like you can get an additional 40 WHP between new CAI and headers alone.