Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Wiring up switch back LED DRL's ... help please

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2013, 10:44 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wiring up switch back LED DRL's ... help please

I have read the how-to that was posted over at CF's, but I'm a total noob to electrical stuff. I'm not entirely sure how to connect the dots between splicing into the harness that's in the driver's door jam/dash area, and then going to/from the fuse panel in the foot well. Do I run wires from the harness, to the fuse panel, then out to the DRL's? If so, what's the best way to tie into the fuse panel, and which fuse would I want?
Thanks guys.

EDIT: To clarify, the switch back LED's need a 3rd power wire run to them in order to act as a DRL with the white LED's, then switch to amber when the signal is engaged.
Old 08-18-2013, 10:27 PM
TECH Resident

Anyone?
Old 08-19-2013, 07:16 AM
CTS-V Shifter Sales

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Nothing needs to go to the fuse box. He added additional in-line fuses and diodes. The diodes aren't necessary and the 1A fuses are additional circuit protection that is optional. The 'new' wires run directly from the splices at the end cap to the bulb connectors.
Old 08-19-2013, 11:09 PM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by 07CTS-V
Nothing needs to go to the fuse box. He added additional in-line fuses and diodes. The diodes aren't necessary and the 1A fuses are additional circuit protection that is optional. The 'new' wires run directly from the splices at the end cap to the bulb connectors.
Yah, I was a little unclear on which part exactly he was saying was optional in his write-up. Thanks for the clarification.
Would you say that the inline fuse or diode is necessary, or overkill?
Old 08-20-2013, 06:09 AM
CTS-V Shifter Sales