Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Need some help with exhaust ideas

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2015, 09:30 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help with exhaust ideas

I picked up my 05 cts-v a few weeks ago and it already has a Corsa catback with resonators. I love how it sounds with no drone and quiet inside, but sounds mildly aggressive outside. I want some long tube headers for it, and I already have a set of 3"electric cutouts I'd like to install so i can open it up when i want, and then make it qiet and civilized when I don't. I'd like to instill the cutouts right after the long tubes and just before the resonators so it can be completely open when I open them.

I'm new to the CTS-V and haven't had the chance to put the car on a lift yet to see what kind of room there is under there and what will work.
Will an exhaust cutout pipe fit in place of where the cats go on these cars? Is there even room for cutouts before the resonators ?
Also, I noticed most headers like OBX list they are 2.5" collectors, is that the size of the fake cat pipe or is the actual collector only 2.5" ? I need to put a 3" cutout pipe on ithe and was thinking of replacing the fake cat with the cutout but keeping the flange that comes wI think the fake cat then nicking it down to 2.5" into the resonators.

Ps I wrote this on my phone while half asleep so, it's probably somewhat incoherent lol
Old 12-10-2015, 10:44 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Not much room to put 3" cutouts where you want....not to mention runnign cutouts right after the collector will sound like pure garbage. It will not sound good in any fashion. Personally I would sell the 3" since its a waste to have that size and buy some low profile ones. Then I would have them installed after the resonator and before the mufflers.
Old 12-10-2015, 11:06 PM
On The Tree