Dreaded cam fault in 6014 - LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion

Notices
Carbureted LSX Forum Carburetors | Carbed Intakes | Carb Tuning Tips for LSX Enthusiasts

Dreaded cam fault in 6014

Reply

Old 03-13-2018, 08:06 PM
  #1  
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Default Dreaded cam fault in 6014

So need some help from all you guys/girls. 2nd year on my setup, ran great last year all the way thru October no problems. Lol hard to start, occasional backfire thru carb but no faults. Checked after every pass. So 1st race this year in feb. Pulled the car out checked everything, charged battery, cleared all data. No code. Got to the track, made a hit car slowed down 2 tenths. Made and pass, same thing, never trust first pass. Pulled data cam sensor fault. Ran all day came home installed new sensor, code fixed. Go to traxk, same thing. Called msd, checked all wiring, all checks good. Msd now says that if car starts ignore the code and keep racing. But why would it slow down so much if only cam fault.

please help with ideas
lsdrag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 06:52 AM
  #2  
TECH Junkie
iTrader: (1)
 
Pop N Wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,291
Default

I can verify the cam sensor is only needed to get the car started right. I've disconnected them with the motor running and it keeps running.

There are obviously a million reasons why a car could slow 2 tenths. The cam sensor code might only be a distraction, but the worry beomes it is pointing out some other issue in the ignition.

By the way, what were your times?
Pop N Wood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 07:04 AM
  #3  
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by Pop N Wood View Post
I can verify the cam sensor is only needed to get the car started right. I've disconnected them with the motor running and it keeps running.

There are obviously a million reasons why a car could slow 2 tenths. The cam sensor code might only be a distraction, but the worry beomes it is pointing out some other issue in the ignition.

By the way, what were your times?
The car had been running 7.0s last year. Got going this year and best I got footbrake was 7.19. Tested all three wires at sensor and got 12v, ground, and voltage while starting. Have 2 sets of coils to play with. Heat sink round truck coils, and set triangle shaped coils, of an fbody I think.
lsdrag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 08:23 AM
  #4  
On The Tree
iTrader: (7)
 
Slick68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sevierville, TN
Posts: 138
Default

Glad to know I'm not the only one with this issue. What aggravates me the most is, my truck operated flawless for 4 1/2 years with the 6010! Switch to the 6014 and can't get it to work quite right!
Slick68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 03:26 PM
  #5  
In-Zane Moderator
iTrader: (25)
 
ZONES89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Conroe, Texas
Posts: 11,839
Default

I’m going to be going EFI myself. On the fence about selling all the carb stuff or what.
ZONES89RS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 03:10 PM
  #6  
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Default Update 3-16

So got car in shop today, and yes code still there. Rechecked all wires, pins, and checked ohms for sensor to box. All checked perfect, even checked pins for proper location. Silly I know but gotta check everything. Plugged laptop back in, mystery, no code. Fired up car let run 30 secs, code is back. Opened up a new msd box and changed msd box. Not harness, or sensors just the box. Car has been running for 30 mins and no codes. I'l update after the track this weekend.
lsdrag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 10:42 PM
  #7  
9 Second Club
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indian Rocks Beach Fl
Posts: 1,056
Default

I've had that dreaded code also, but cam sensor like its been stated is only for the start up. We also unplugged it and still ran with no issues. I would be checking other things too, Tires?
Bowtiedford is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 12:47 PM
  #8  
On The Tree
iTrader: (7)
 
Slick68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sevierville, TN
Posts: 138
Default

Originally Posted by ZONES89RS View Post
Iím going to be going EFI myself. On the fence about selling all the carb stuff or what.
Me too! I've started shopping around for different EFI setups.
Slick68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 06:13 PM
  #9  
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Default Weekend update

Ok, went to track yesterday, and here' your info. Straight out the trailer, warmed up the car and all fluids, as normal. Went into the lanes when called and 1st hit off the trailer was 7.06. Pulled data, no codes. Made total of 9 passes at the track, slowest pass was 7.11, bracket racing, had to play at end. 7.03 was best pass of the day and still no cam fault code. Now with all that said here is where I'm at in my thought process. I have a custom grind in a not straight up position. I agree that a car will run with a cam fault, but in my case it made the tune slow down to 7.20s and up to 7.03 with same time in a different box.
lsdrag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 08:10 AM
  #10  
On The Tree
iTrader: (7)
 
Slick68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sevierville, TN
Posts: 138
Default

Originally Posted by lsdrag View Post
Ok, went to track yesterday, and here' your info. Straight out the trailer, warmed up the car and all fluids, as normal. Went into the lanes when called and 1st hit off the trailer was 7.06. Pulled data, no codes. Made total of 9 passes at the track, slowest pass was 7.11, bracket racing, had to play at end. 7.03 was best pass of the day and still no cam fault code. Now with all that said here is where I'm at in my thought process. I have a custom grind in a not straight up position. I agree that a car will run with a cam fault, but in my case it made the tune slow down to 7.20s and up to 7.03 with same time in a different box.
I'll probably send my box back to MSD to have it checked after this weekend.
Slick68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 08:20 AM
  #11  
Teching In
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by Slick68 View Post
I'll probably send my box back to MSD to have it checked after this weekend.
That' what I was gonna do, but when I called msd, I was informed that this is a sealed unit and they don' repair them. Seeing that it' fell filled it cost more to fix than a new one costs. So basically the msd 6014 is a throw away unit.
I hope you have better luck than I did.
lsdrag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 08:33 AM
  #12  
9 Second Club
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indian Rocks Beach Fl
Posts: 1,056
Default

Honestly don't think it's the box, I use to bracket race my car for over 20 years and 2 tents was sometimes the norm, depending on track prep, tires, and weather, especially weather. At my track, times are so dependent on what mood their in on prepping the track lol.
Bowtiedford is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 10:36 AM
  #13  
LS1Tech Sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA. USA
Posts: 2,111
Default 6014 On Pot

HI ALL, the WORST thing one can due to a circuit board is to put it in a Box AND fill it with potting material as is done in the 6014.

The material expands/contracts with HEAT often pulling the SMD parts off the board solder contact areas.

I use a Boeing specification material coating, Urethane, that seals the board/components.

I have never had such a problem with my Ignition controllers/EFI controllers.

I would hope some here would "shop" my ECU-882C-LS for their needs ?

Lance
pantera_efi is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: