Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1992 C4 Corvette Build (LS2 Stroker / 4L60e / Terminator X)

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2020, 08:17 PM
TECH Regular

Received 115 Likes on 88 Posts

Default 1992 C4 Corvette Build (LS2 Stroker / 4L60e / Terminator X)

Hello, I'm starting a new build, hopefully you enjoy, and/or find some posts helpful.

First, the Car:

This is my 1992 Corvette. Its a fairly basic model, not many options, but I preferred it that way. Its a LT1 / 4L60 (non electronic), with the stock Dana 36 rear with 2.59:1 gears. Its a BAM car - Bright Aqua Metallic, black interior, 275/40R17s at all 4 corners, standard (not ride control) suspension, standard (12" discs) brakes. I have both the blue transparent and body color targa top for it. Its more or less completely stock, other than the original base(non-bose) stereo is replaced with a basic aftermarket unit for now.

To me, I graduated high school in 1992, so I love late 80s-early 90s cars. I've really enjoyed this car, and just want to modernize a few things, and to have more power. I already had my engine, so I bought this car for the purpose of the swap.

Old 04-27-2020, 08:40 PM
TECH Regular

Next up: The Plan

Overall, my goal for this car is simply to make a car that I enjoy to drive. Its not a drag or track car. I will drive it to work in nice weather, and on nights out with my wife. So it needs to be comfortable and drive well enough in traffic.

The Engine will be a stroked LS2. I have this engine already. I had an LS2 purchased fro an earlier project, that eventually got a different engine. The LS2 is from a trailblazer, and it had worn out rod bearings. I forget now, but I think it was #7, which seems to be a common failure point on the TBSS motor. So I ended up getting it built up with a 4" crank. If I remember correctly, its:
2007 LS2, bored to 4.005" (58x)
Callies Compstar 4" crank
Callies rods
Diamond pistons, I think -2cc flat tops