Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Winter project: LS1 swap vs LT1 stroker in C4

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2005, 02:19 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Winter project: LS1 swap vs LT1 stroker in C4

Hello, I'm a newb to this forum so I am so sorry if this has already been asked a milllion times. I am trying to figure out if I should build a stroker LT1 (396) or go for the LS1 swap for my '95 Corvette. I would really like to go for the LS1 since it has so much more potential out of the box than the LT1 will ever have.

I am honestly surprised this is a fairly uncommon swap. What are the major technical reasons for this?

My plan for the mockup was to buy a plastic engine from P-Ayr so I can experiment with accessory locations and mounting. Since my goal is to get a low mileage pull, it will be a bit easier than pushing around a full weight engine (little scared at the moment with all the recent flood cars hitting the market).

Really my only question I have not been able to figure out is if the ZF6 can be made to work with an LS1. If that is not possible, I am prepared to make an adapter mount for a T56 since we have a full machine shop here at work. I don't suppose there is any way to reuse that expensive McLeod street twin I installed over the winter, is there?

Anyway, TIA for any suggestions!
Old 09-21-2005, 10:44 PM
Launching!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

In my opinion I elliminated the LT1 for its one major flaw and that is its distributor behind the water pump. When the water pump goes it leaks into the distributor and ruins it requiring it to be changed. Water pumps go all the time and the longer you own the car it will go out.

LS1 is drivable, coils per cylinder, crank and cam triggers, and fuel injected all of the best features. I think the hardest part is mounting the engine and tranny, once you figure that out the rest is easy.