Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pewter B4C Street/Strip Build

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2013, 02:15 PM
11 Second Club

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Pewter B4C Street/Strip Build

This will likely be right up there with the slowest builds posted on this site. That said, here's a brief backstory.

I've been around f-bodys all my life, starting when I was 16 with my first hot rod build - a '79 Camaro. Had the rearend built, did a 700R4 for it, and a vortec headed carbed 383 that went mid 12s (back in 2001 12s was fast! lol)
After that I graduated to the 4th gens in 2003. Over the last 10 years I've bought and sold 5 of these cars, and over the last year or so I haven't had one to tinker with. I've had time to think on all of them and what I did and didn't like about em in comparison and I've come up with my recipe for the 'ultimate' LS powered street/strip f-body. Obviously some aspects of this build will be different from what others prefer, but after having 5 other 4th gen cars, I've come up with 'the' car that's perfect for me and what I'll do with it.

I want to build a car I can hop in and drive anywhere (weather permitting - nobody wants to drive a hot rod in the rain!) It had to be a hardtop; I really like the more solid feel of a hardtop car - less creaks/rattles - and the option to have the roof and mirrors painted body color... GMMG cars come to mind. I had a pewter '99 Z28 that was super clean with 50k miles on it back in '05-'06, this one comes to mind when I think clean 4th gen - so it'd have to be pewter. I wanna take it to the track and drag race it - and I've raced automatics at the track for years so it would have to have a 'solid' 4L60E in it (notice the quotes hehe) with a decent converter.

So my search was on, I'd come across a few cars that didn't quite fit the bill til I found this one. An '01 pewter B4C body colored hardtop car with a RPM Level IV trans and Vig 3600 converter. Found 'er!