Drag Racing Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for website with drag etiquette info...

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2003, 05:24 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Looking for website with drag etiquette info...

I'm a newbie, just looking for some typical dos and don'ts.

I've picked up a lot here, but just looking for any good links you all may have that relate to street-night type racing!

Thanks!
Old 07-06-2003, 07:29 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Default Re: Looking for website with drag etiquette info...

if you dont have skinnies up front, drive around the water box and back in it so you dont track water up towards the line

dont do dry hops, dont burnout past the starting line

have your tail lights on after dark

roll your windows up

if you stage first, only light up the first staging lights. dont fully stage in the 2nd lights until your opponent has lit his first lights up

at the far end, if you are slowed down enough to take the next turn off and are behind the other car, pull behind him in his lane to signal him that you are slowed so he knows he can turn without being run into

dont race down the return road, thats what your trip down the track was for
Old 07-06-2003, 08:14 PM
On The Tree

"if you stage first, only light up the first staging lights. dont fully stage in the 2nd lights until your opponent has lit his first lights up"

Thanks, didn't know that one.

Anything special to know if I just happen to be paired next to some obviously faster car? (2-3 sec. faster for example)
Old 07-06-2003, 08:51 PM
TECH Addict

Anything special to know if I just happen to be paired next to some obviously faster car? (2-3 sec. faster for example)

Just ignore the other car. Unless your local track officials are morons and pair you up with a 9 second drag beast. In that case, just let the other car go first, and let him get ahead of you before you launch. Don't worry about reaction times, just practice the launch and get comfortable.