Dynamometer Results & Comparisons Dyno Records | Dyno Discussion | Dyno Wars

lq4 400 HP 373 TQ any suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2017, 09:10 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lq4 400 HP 373 TQ any suggestions?

Hello,

This is my first build. Looks a little low however it is going through a 9 inch and 4l60. Any suggestions? I need to drive it some more to see how well it runs.

1971 Nova
TR6 Plugs
Firecore wires
6.0L LQ4 motor-10.7:1 compression
1.7 Yella Terra roller rockers
Johnson Lifters
Manton rods 11/32
Ported 62ccDart LS1PRO 225 Heads 2.06 intake 1.6 exh .700PAC springs
Ported Fast 102 intake and throttle body
Kook 1 7/8 headers
Custom CAM- CAM MOTION 232/236 .626"/.626" 112LSA +4
Transmision- Finishline 4l60
Stall- FTI3800
The donor vehicle for the 6.0L engine, -02 Suburban
-trans, PCM and engine harness -01 Silverado
-MAF sensor, 5.3 truck maf
-Injectors, Racetronixs 42
-Rearend gear, 370
Old 07-17-2017, 09:12 PM
Teching In

Old 07-18-2017, 12:48 AM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 243 Likes on 185 Posts

You need ALOT of tuning. That middle squiggly part is prob knock and the plateau is prob from fueling. So rich it couldn't make any power. Have your tuner turn COT off and look for 26 degrees and 12.5 afr. That cam has too much adv honestly imo. It should make somewhere in the 430-450 range.
Old 07-18-2017, 08:31 AM
11 Second Club

Received 26 Likes on 18 Posts

Agree with above.

Also it seems rare I see engines with aftermarket rockers do well unless the builder took care to setup the pushrod length and valve spring installed height very well. Could have unstable valvetrain above about 4700rpm.

It also looks like the pull might have been with a locked converter based on the lower end of the graph. If so those are pretty disappointing results.

Are you sure on the compression? Is this a stock piston lq4?

What exhaust is after the headers? I hope it's 3" duals of some sort.

I'm assuming the pull was done in 3rd gear?