Eastern Members CT, DE, NH, NJ, NY, MA, ME, MD, PA, RI, VT, VA, WV

Starter issues on day 2!

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2013, 12:26 AM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Starter issues on day 2!

Hi all, I am a NOOB here and to ls1 power as well. Things have not started out well. On the second day of ownership, before I even got the car registered and on the road, I turned the key to start it and heard a snap and then a high pitch wiz and nothing else. I quickly discovered the problem to be that there was a (long) starter bolt laying on the driveway. I assumed it was loose and fell out causing the starter to be misaligned and the bendix to miss the flywheel. The next day when I went under there to simply put the bolt back in, I found a nasty little surprise laying in the header tubes. I discovered what I'm sure many ls1 owners reading this already know, that part of the mounting bracket for the long side bolt had snapped off and now needs to be TIGed back on. Making matters worse, it tore the other ear off the starter effectively turning it into a core. What a PITA!! Anyone know of someone who can do this properly and relatively inexpensively in the NYC area? I already found a guy who can do it in the car for $400 but I have to pull the header down first. That repair plus a new starter and I'm already in for $500+. I haven't owned this thing for a week yet!!!

Attached Thumbnails Starter issues on day 2!-2013-03-02_11-24-09_584-lr.jpg   Starter issues on day 2!-2013-03-02_11-44-46_804-lr.jpg   Starter issues on day 2!-2013-02-28_15-23-43_779-lr.jpg  

Last edited by 99ws6ta346; 03-03-2013 at 12:35 AM.
Old 03-03-2013, 05:17 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

That's already a new starter. Who ever you bought it from hacked it together because it was already broken.

Not easy to get to for welding. $400 is definitely too much if all they are doing is welding.
Old 03-03-2013, 06:33 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Slowhawk