Eastern Members CT, DE, NH, NJ, NY, MA, ME, MD, PA, RI, VT, VA, WV

NY no front liscense plate

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2007, 02:14 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NY no front liscense plate

Well I got a ticket for it. I wasnt speeding or anything, the cop was just a douche and he looked like he was 15. Found a petition going on to get this stupid law removed. A lot of other state have already removed it.

http://www.petitiononline.com/NYSFLPR/petition.html
Old 10-25-2007, 02:17 PM
Internet Mechanic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Your required to have one until the law is changed, dont bitch because you got caught. Pay your fine and deal with it.

Also, being a licensed insurance agent, I know how freaking pesky NY is about license plates, I dont see this going through.
Old 10-25-2007, 02:39 PM
11 Second Club

My wife just got a ticket for this a few weeks ago too. She said the cop was a jerk about it (trooper). We put the bracket back on (for 5 minutes), took a few pics, and mailed them in with a not guilty plea. Hopefully it will be dropped. **** cops that have nothing better to do than to harass people for stupid ****! I could understand if she was speeding, and to give her a break he gave her a license plate ticket, but she wasn't.
Old 10-25-2007, 05:34 PM
On The Tree

You should look into your specific law. Here in mass a front plate is also required by law, but there is a loop hole in the law here. It states that if there is no "factory" bracket, then one is not required up front but good luck trying to convince them that a "factory" bracket did not come with the car
Old 10-25-2007, 05:37 PM
TECH Addict

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

such a shitty law
Old 10-25-2007, 05:50 PM
TECH Apprentice

Here is one for Massachusetts!

http://www.petitiononline.com/mass/petition.html
Old 10-25-2007, 08:12 PM
12 Second Club

just pay the fine, its cheaper than the bracket lol. ive got a ticket this year, but dont plan on having a plate anytime soon.