Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Super or Turbo??

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2003, 02:14 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Super or Turbo??

Hey everyone, I am a newbie that is looking for a LS1 very soon and I was wondering what your personal opinion is of Supercharger vs. Turbocharger. Also, if I should get different heads/cam than if it were an NA engine. Any other advice or recommended companies would be appreciated. Thanks
Old 09-24-2003, 01:33 AM
11 Second Club

Default Re: Super or Turbo??

Seach button is your friend

Super vs. Turbo... Turbo's are known for torque and more tuning problems. If I had a choice, I'd WANT to do a twin turbo setup, but because of the issues, I'd probably do a Super.

As for a H/C combo, with heads, get the 6.0L non-milled (lowers compression) and with a cam, get one with a high LSA, I believe everyone prefers a 114.

Hope this helps...

BTW, for the advice, have at least $10k to get everything done
Old 09-24-2003, 03:25 AM
Staging Lane

Thanks a lot for the advice, I really have no idea where to start for and LS1, this helps a lot.
Old 09-24-2003, 05:08 AM
Administrator

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

If you're talking forced induction on an LS1, you need to get inside the motor and stregthen the internals.
Old 09-24-2003, 07:43 AM
TECH Junkie

Thats a definate. If you're just doin some light boltons, the stock internals will hold just fine. But, if you're wanting a true beast,you'll have to start forging most of the bottom end.

Turbo's are cool, cause like blowers, they make cool sounds . But, outside of the tuning, fabrication, turbo's are usually more efficient then blowers. Not robbing power, to make power is a BIG plus. Nothing against superchargers, i like them just the same, and they can be fierce engines when it comes down to it. To me, the difference would be dinero. Typically you're going to spend more on a turbo setup then a blower setup.