Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Boost Gauge Not Showing Boost

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2010, 08:06 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Boost Gauge Not Showing Boost

I've been out of the f-body world for about 10 years, but recently returned to it with the purchase of a '98 SS convertible. It has a "few" mods as follows:

-Vortech Polished, V9 G-trim Supercharger kit (w/ 13 pound pulley)
-Procharger Intercooler
-GM Performance Gen III Camshaft
-Richmond 4.10 Gears
-SLP Long Tube Headers
-SLP High Flow Cats
-Borla cat-back exhaust
-Autometer air/fuel and boost gauge

The car produced 450 rwhp on a dyno test done by the previous owner, but without the boost gauge showing boost. When I drive the car I see various vacuum readings on the gauge, but never positive boost values.

I'm totally new to superchargers and the extent of my mod experience in the past has been light intake, exhaust and tuning. I'm curious what thoughts / reactions you may have.
Old 05-31-2010, 08:53 AM
Staging Lane

a electronic boost guage has a senser that then goes to the intake. check to see if the senser has a loose connection or the hose popped off a port on your intake.
Old 05-31-2010, 09:17 AM
Staging Lane

Thanks - I'll take a look at the line and sensor. Here's another way of putting the question. Based on the mods and the dyno result, do we think I'm making boost and the gauge isn't showing it OR do we think I'm really not making boost?

Old 05-31-2010, 10:26 AM
Launching!