Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Header primary and collector size for T4 GT91

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2011, 07:48 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Header primary and collector size for T4 GT91

I am wanting to buy the Stainless Works down and forward facing headers to attempt to keep everything in the factory location with keeping the A/C. This is going to be a street car mostly which is why I chose to stay with the T4 flange. It is a forged 370 with the T4 GT91. I am kind of new to the turbo world so please don't criticize me to much, I just want to go fast. I would like to stick with a 2.5" crossover as I know people are making big power with them but don't know if I want to step down to 1 5/8 primaries. Josh at Kentucky Turbo is building amazing setups with the 1 3/4 tubes with 3" collector but I'm wondering if a 3" crossover is going to be too much for my setup. My hats off to him, he's really producing great work. I don't really like the idea of stepping the 3" collectors down to 2.5. What do you guys think? Glad to join you guys on LS1Tech and I'll get the build thread going soon once I get a few more pieces to the puzzle.
Old 03-05-2011, 08:41 PM
Grr
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

1 5/8 primaries and 2.5" crossover is good enough for 1500whp+
Old 03-05-2011, 08:49 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by Grr
1 5/8 primaries and 2.5" crossover is good enough for 1500whp+
Yeah, I'm shooting for around 750-800 whp if possible through a 4L80E without pushing water for the time being.
Old 03-06-2011, 08:02 AM
9 Second Club

Received 64 Likes on 54 Posts

According to some things I been reading..... A lot posted by phil with that sick lsx mustang...

It sounds like 1 5/8" primarys and a 2.25" crossover is ideal for that set up... on top of that there is