Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Relationship between dropping compression and raising boost

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2012, 12:31 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Relationship between dropping compression and raising boost

I'm still pretty new to the boost game, and I need a new motor, as many who are new to the boost game often do. Since I can change my CR and lower it at this time, I'm considering doing that. People usually just decrease CR and pulley down? How does this affect the way the car drives? Forged 347 with a vortech. I was running 7lbs on a stock motor. If I was to drop the CR down to something like 9.0:1 and pulley down, what would the car feel like? If it opens up a hole in the low end power I don't think I would want to do that.
Old 05-27-2012, 01:24 PM
TECH Enthusiast

the more oxygen that you can introduce with fuel, the more power you will make. But it is a fine edged sword. the most compression that you can get with the most oxygen, fuel and timming will make the most power. its a game of getting the most with the most timming, and no detonation that is the hardest.

ive seen turbo cars with 8.0:1 clear up to 10.5:1 (and im sure there are pleanty with more) with 15psi each. if you take precautions such as meth, or cryogen you can run the high compression. if not... you have to compromise with less timming than the other with lower compression.
Old 05-27-2012, 01:51 PM
12 Second Club

Right, I understand that the balance must be maintained, but I'm interested in how changing the cr this way affects the driving/powerband characteristics.
Old 05-27-2012, 03:34 PM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Is it a forged motor? I would never go down to 9.0:1 CR on a forged motor. all of my motors have been 9.6:1 or higher. also my next question would be what fuel and are you gona spray Meth?