Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Junkyard turbo option for daily driver 5.3

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2014, 07:52 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Junkyard turbo option for daily driver 5.3

When I originally started this build I was going to do remote mount twins but since then I have gone with a 5.3 iron block out of 2002 truck. I am doing this is a junkyard DIY build showing what I can do with a small budget. This truck will be driven regularly but I want to make a good amount of power while remaining fairly reliable (I know the saying fast, cheap, reliable, pick two). What is a good amount of boost to run on a full stock bottom end that will last a reasonable amount of time, and what would be a good choice for turbos from a junkyard I am open to singles or twins. I have messed with factory turbos and light modding but I am new to full custom setups on stuff like this, I have been digging around online for ideas but all the numbers are just numbers to me (more of a na guy but working on going to the dark side, 86range getting a supercharger after this too). Also what is a good choice for a cam that will work well as I build the truck up over time. Eventual goal is around 800hp but for now I just want to see what I can do cheap.

I have a turbo off a 2.3 turbo coupe just laying around which I thought might be ok if I got a matching one to go with it. I also have a turbo off a 6.0l power stroke at the house but figure that might be a little big for the application and I don't know if I want to go through the trouble of figuring out a custom controller for the variable vane setup (I already have enough custom electronic work to do with everything else going in the truck)
Old 01-23-2014, 08:10 PM
TECH Enthusiast