Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

New to builds and have some questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2014, 11:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to builds and have some questions

Hi, I posted a thread awhile back ago about wanting to build a budget 6.0 or 5.7 with 500rwhp. After some talking with some of the guys on here I have discovered it will be much cheaper in the long run to build a 5.3. I have some questions for the FI community now though.
I have found a 5.3 out of a 05 gmc for $400, believe i will be picking it up when my ship pulls back in if it is still there. I would like to go FI either single or twin turbo on it, seems like that is where the huge power from these blocks are coming from.
I want to go with 243 heads ported to the best they can be (not sure what that is im new to all this just did some research on what seems best) and a fast 102/102 cause i have been told that is the best i can get for this build. As for cam i plan on finding someone to custom grind one if any of you have an suggestions i would greatly appreciate it. Headers i do not know, i would like 1 7/8ths but i dont even know what car i will have this in yet as i do not have one for it yet.
As for turbos, i found this on EBAY and i am very interested. I know aboslutly nothing about setting up FI but i have a friend back home that says he can help me custom fab it to fit if needed (he is a mechanic) do any of you know if this is worth the price? and if so what else i would need to run this set up on a 5.3l? http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Small-Block-Chevy-Twin-Turbo-TT-kit-1000HP-SBC-Chevrolet-Camaro-Trans-AM-/251161721779?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3a7a67bbb3&vxp=mtr#ht_3060wt_843