Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

another boost by gear thread

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2016, 07:50 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another boost by gear thread

Okay so as I'm finishing up my build I've decided that I'm wanting to try and do boost by gear since it's going to be a turbo street car. I've been reading boost by gear posts on here but their all kinda old threads so here we go... Car is a six speed. 5.3 76mm. I have an e boost 2 and I guess my question is if Im able to fab up a bracket and run microswitches to 1st-4th gears , can my eboost use those signals to do a true boost by gear? I've heard the ams1000 could but I have no real experience with either. I have no problem with fabbing a small bracket adjustable and some microswitches to make this work. I'm guessing someone has done this before and doeast wanna share there secrets? maybe someone alresdy sells some kind of kit for this? haha any input is grestly appreciated. and I realize there's other ways to manage boost levels but this is what I've chosen would be best for me.
Old 04-15-2016, 07:36 AM
9 Second Club

Received 180 Likes on 155 Posts

True boost by gear means the controller knows what gear you are in at all times.

Clearly that will not be achievable with 4 boost levels and 6 gears. But it will come close if you rig up all the switches to make it work.

Apparently as you say some of the more expensive AMS options can offer boost by gear, not sure how they determine what gear is what. I see some of their units can hook up to OBD data...so as long as the controller knows driven wheel speed and engine rpm, gear can be calculated ( you'd need to tell it the ratios obviously )

Plex Tuning PBC boost controller does this too and offers true boost by gear or speed etc.

I think the old Apexi AVCR can do boost by gear too...but it's a nightmare to work with