Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Procharged LS1(or destroked LSx) vs. Stroked LSx

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2016, 02:43 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Procharged LS1(or destroked LSx) vs. Stroked LSx

I'm a newb to LS engines but I have experience with the old school. LS engines are the sh*t, and I am thirsty for knowledge and wanting to come up with the best performing combo for autocross/road racing with occasional 1/4 mile racing.

I think it's been established in this thread that the best bang for buck is LS1 with Procharger boost vs. LS3 stroker:

https://ls1tech.com/forums/chevrolet...mpg-power.html

Once I wear out my stock LS1 with Procharger and boost, I'm thinking about either a forged LS1 short block to take its place (with more boost) or...(gonna get flamed here) a destroked LSx running even more boost.

I'm thinking the large bore/short stroke would yield a mechanical leverage advantage.

Am I looking at this incorrectly?

Thanks!
Old 05-23-2016, 02:52 AM
Teching In

I guess I should clarify that I'm looking for the best daily driver setup that I can drive to races and still yield respectable MPG on the highway.
Old 05-23-2016, 02:57 AM
Teching In

Also, does Tom Nelson know what he's talking about? Seems pretty knowledgeable about LS engines. He doesn't seem to promote a 4" or larger stroke.

Seems like a good watch...
Old 05-23-2016, 12:38 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

You can have a very reliable Procharged setup on a stock LS1. You just need to make sure you have an adequate fuel system to feed it, make sure the tune is good and safe, and run a safe enough compression ratio based on what type of fuel you're going to use. There are plenty of guys on here making 650 to 700 rwhp on stock LS1's with a D1SC Procharger setup. That should be more than enough for an autocross, road racing, 1/4 mile drag car.
Old 05-23-2016, 03:18 PM
Teching In