Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Boost in first gear ?

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2017, 10:25 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Default Boost in first gear ?

im a newb to forced induction and Im in the process of tuning my first turbo build. Well, the fitech TB computer is doing the tuning for me, but i cant seem to get the boost up where i want it .
Quick rundown of what im working with,,,,,SBE 6.2 LS3, 317s ported by me, Bullet turbo cam (225-229 at .050, 585-585, 114 LSA installed +2), 9.12 to 1 comp, Holley single plane intake, CXracing turbo headers, homemade stainless plumbing to turbo (front mount), fitech 1200 TB, CXracing GT45R 80mm turbo (80-108mm comp, 77-89 turbine ) 1.15 AR, turbosmart hypergate 45mm wastegate, innovate SGC-1 controller, CXracing A to A 29x12x4 innercooler, 2 1/2 in hot side, 3 in cold side, 6x9 S&B cone filter. Right now the timing is set for 13* at 12 psi, tapering down 1 1/2* per psi from 31.* at zero boost. AFR is at 11.5 under boost.
my plan is to wind up at 12 psi on pump 93. so far I havent had a chance to stretch it out past just into second gear, but im only seeing about 6 lbs of boost and thats in first gear. the boost drops back to about 4 lbs when i shift to second and Im out of room on my little straight spot in the road at the end of my drive. My trans is a 2004r with a 2800 stall, rear gears are 3.42, tires are MT SS 305/35/18s (26.6"). I cant get into boost sitting still, power braking (still showing 2 or 3 in of vacuum, up on the converter) so im probably 10 ft out before it gets to positive pressure. 3 seconds later im at 6800 rpms, 60 mph, 6 psi and shifting to second.