Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

LS Swap Supercharger suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2019, 06:57 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 31 Likes on 28 Posts

Default LS Swap Supercharger suggestions

Hey guys, I’ve never done a supercharger before I wanted to get your input.

The car is an 87 Monte SS with a 2000 6.0/4L80E swap I did about 7 years ago. 4L80 is stock rebuild with a Yank 3200 stall (tight) and aux cooler with fan. LQ4 I built myself and is bored 4.030, weisco -2cc flat top pistons, Callie’s rods, stock crank, GM MLS head gaskets, 799 heads untouched, LS2 intake, 78mm TB with 4 bolt/90mm adapter and 230/236 .614/.610 113 cam. 10.98 CR, rings gapped for N/A and made 350rwhp/350rwtq. Stock rear right now but in the works of doing a 9” more than likely with 3.73 gears. Truck accessories as well, Grand National fuel tank with 255 pump.

Car will be a street machine with many trips to the strip planned. Want it to run 6psi on 93 but intend to do a flex fuel sensor later and up the boost.

I originally intended to go turbo but i have really been looking at a TVS 2300 with plans to do an ice box with the heat exchanger. Any other S/C’s You recommend?

What are are your opinions? I know CR is up there. Should I get some heads with a larger chamber to knock that down? Thoughts on meth? Cam swap obviously (btr stage 3?)

Derek
Old 05-13-2019, 08:13 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

I have an 83 cutlass ly6 with a whipple 2.9 . I love it . Fits under the stock hood with the Holley pan/ mounts. The harrop 2650 is supposed to be the hot new ticket but I’m not sure about intake temps witch could be an issue with your high CR.
Old 05-14-2019, 02:26 AM
The Scammer Hammer

Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts

I'll be completely honest... a well ported (Modern Airflow Dynamics, Kong, Jokerz) 1.9 LSA blower is pretty hard to beat. Even the guys that swapped from an LSA to a HeartBeat didn't gain much at all with it.