Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

408ci

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2005, 05:59 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 408ci

i know its considered something you can' do but i just wanted to see wat ya'll felt.........

my new motor is gonna have a 11.1-11.3 comp. could i , in theory, safely install a procharger on it and wat could be the highest i can go on boost? 5psi? 7psi?
Old 01-07-2005, 06:10 PM
9 Second Club

safely is a relative term.....

11.1 is alot of CR for a motor that will get boost.
Old 01-07-2005, 07:15 PM
TECH Fanatic

Re-construct your engine for lower compression, or add N2O. I'm not a proponent of N2O, since they have all the weight breaks (and are therefore, by inference are crutched) in competitive racing, but at your CR, there's little other options available. It'll still be quick... Just not as quick as a turbo car, lb for lb...

SC-
Old 01-07-2005, 07:26 PM
TECH Senior Member

What would be a good compression ratio for say 15 lbs of boost "safely". What would be ideal?
Old 01-07-2005, 07:32 PM
TECH Addict

ok, let say i want to go ahead and openher up and drop the cr with a set of pistons. Wat should the new c.r. be? I think along the lines of 9.5 or even as low as 8......

I would like to see a supercharger kit that would net me around 800hp to 900hp to the wheels, like a few that ive seen here...
Old 01-08-2005, 07:38 AM
TECH Fanatic

I talked to a few of the local FI racers that still drive them on the street. They seem to agree that the off boost response gets lazy below 9.0:1. Personally, I stay close to 9.5:1 because, if the tune is good and the timing conservative, 15 pounds wouldn't be a big issue on 93. Though I'd consider at least an alky system for good measure. With that I'd have no qualms about 15 pounds, in fact that's what I ran on the street with 10:1 cr, 13 pounds, and 93 octane. No problems and zero kr.

SC-
Old 01-08-2005, 09:19 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post