Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

How Difficult to Do My Own Pistons/Rods Swap??

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2002, 11:27 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How Difficult to Do My Own Pistons/Rods Swap??

Just wondering what all is involved in doing this, and can it be done with a good set of tools and jackstands? I've never done anything like this before, so I'm looking for help from all the gearheads out there . . .

- Dug
Old 04-09-2002, 06:26 PM
TECH Resident

Default Re: How Difficult to Do My Own Pistons/Rods Swap??

Come on, has nobody done this themselves??

- Dug
Old 04-10-2002, 05:28 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Dug....

How ya doing? Hey, I understand you run a turbo car, but pistons and rods are pistons and rods. I would post this question over on the "internal engine" section. I think you will get some interest over there.

Well, we talked about this before. Again, I would install a set of forged 8.5 to 1 pistons (dished)on the stock rods, and then CRANK UP the boost! I would want a set of pistons with the same deck height as the stockers.