General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Is this normal for power steering fluid? Pic inside.

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2011, 10:24 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Is this normal for power steering fluid? Pic inside.

My car is a 99 SS with a power steering cooler. My fluid level is always high and is constanty seeping around the cap. I've flushed my coolant and it wasn't contaminated with ps fluid. I'm confused. Is this normal? Why is my fluid always seeping around the cap, as you can see from the picture. I just cleaned up the ps pump a week ago. Any help is always appreciated. Thanks guys.

Old 07-13-2011, 10:30 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm not an expert on power steering problems but I do know that when oil and coolant are mixed, that is what the outcome is.
Old 07-13-2011, 10:31 PM
TECH Fanatic

Hell no !!
Old 07-13-2011, 10:33 PM
TECH Fanatic

My antifreeze isn't contanminated and the level is never low.
Old 07-13-2011, 10:33 PM
TECH Addict

mine looks exactly the same. nasty brown murky ****. and i dont have a power steering cooler... i do have a leak in my rack but that shouldnt mean anything
Old 07-13-2011, 10:39 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by my bandit
mine looks exactly the same. nasty brown murky ****. and i dont have a power steering cooler... i do have a leak in my rack but that shouldnt mean anything
Yeah, my car's ps runs just fine and I don't have an issue with it. The color is just concerning. When I pull the motor out I will probably flush all the old fluid out but if this is bad I'll do it now.
Old 07-14-2011, 12:10 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post