General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Looking for second opinions on thermostat/gas mileage

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2011, 11:17 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for second opinions on thermostat/gas mileage

Currently I have a 160 degree thermostat for the Camaro in my sig. I've been getting crappy gas mileage for a while now and especially since after I've re-geared obviously, around 16 mpg with 50/50 highway city. And by highway I've actually mostly driving 55 mph.

I've heard lower degree thermostats can have an effect on gas mileage. Since I'm running an auto with the cooler lines still running through the radiator (I do have an auxiliary cooler also) I thought I'd switch up to a 180 degree instead of back to stock along with having a little more protection from pinging/detonating

I heard the right temperature range for stock internal LS1's is 190-210 range, right now I'm running 170-180 (according to a scan gauge I have) for the 160 degree thermostat so I'd imagine a 180 would put me 190-200 range. According to Carnot's theorm I believe, a engine that runs hotter should have better thermal efficiency or something like that IIRC

I do know because of the scan gauge it's getting warm enough to get out of open loop mode which causes really bad gas mileage I hear, so the 160 is not causing that like some people claim

Please no comments like "it's a V8 what do you expect", I've read gas mileage threads and people are getting much better than me with things like stalls and built engines

So should I go 180 or stay 160? Or go back stock which is something like 186 right? Would it be worth it? My low speed fans come on at 175 or 177 I think, I imagine I would need to change that for a 180 to keep from burning up the fans?

Thanks y'all
Old 12-07-2011, 12:02 AM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,689 Likes on 1,210 Posts